going bush

May 19, 2016

going bush

Ever since I was a kid I have wanted a bit of land that I could have for my very own. Land that I could look after.

It has been a very strong longing.

I turned 50 this year, and lately I’ve been thinking that if I don’t do this thing I will regret it.

I did something along the same lines last year. I thought that if I didn’t have a crack at becoming a registered psychologist I would regret it. It didn’t matter if I failed, as long as I had a go. A few subjects into the course I realised it was more effort than enjoyment, and I bailed out. No shame.

About six weeks ago, we took the kids camping for 5 nights. We hadn’t been camping or done anything much for 18 months because my middle son has been so ill.  With him getting stronger and us able to manage his illness better we were so ready for this trip. We went to a place called Abercrombie Caves, in Wiradjuri Country.

Although the Country was in drought, it was beautiful. Dust, fly’s, and bindii’s. As we were in a valley, the night sky looked like a bowl. And the stars! With no electricity or mobile phone coverage we were completely out of touch with the rest of the world. We had the park to ourselves for 2 days, as the ranger allowed us to stay when the park was closed. With no-one around, the animals descended from the mountains to reclaim the campground.  My boys played cricket incessantly, and ran and jumped and played.  I felt so alive, all of my aches and pains went away even though I was sleeping on the ground.

We were all very sad to leave. I wanted to stay. I wanted to go back to that Country as soon as I got home. Previously, when we came home from a camping trip, we were pleased to be back home. This time there was a lingering sadness and a slow readjustment to living a material life.

Over the next few days, my husband and I started talking about purchasing a property. He had been resistant to the idea previously, so I was surprised when he was more amenable. Long story short – much discussion, copious amounts of time searching properties via the internet, a chat with the bank, completion of forms, many emails back and forth, and very long days taking road trips with the kids to look at properties, we are in the process of purchasing 80 acres about 4 hours travel from where we live.

kangarooby

kangarooby 2

… the sky, the view, the serenity.

This is a big risk. Getting into this much debt at our age is a bit bonkers really. We are buying at the top of the market. It could all go belly up, especially as my husband’s job is not very secure at the moment.

It makes no sense, but it feels so right. I wish we had done this 10 years ago.

My husband is busily researching the art of beekeeping. He has wanted to keep bees for years, and he feels that now is the time. He likes the idea of building a Slovenian bee building …

 

Slovenian%20beehive

The hives are on one side, and the beekeeper goes into the building to work on the hives.

inside a bee building

Cool, ay?

The plan is for us to retire to the bush. I want to go now! But we have three young lads who are still growing and will need to be educated. The eldest is 14 and the youngest is 10. They have a way to go before they become independent. And they are firmly planted in the place that has been their home. They have strong friendships and community networks here.

I am looking forward to seeing how this next adventure unfolds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “going bush”

  1. Beauty Along the Road Says:

    Congratulations on following your urge to be out in nature, away from it all! We, too, bought land in a remote area before my daughter graduated from high school and then left the city behind, after she did. After 10 yrs of building our infrastructure and finally feeling settled, I do miss the opportunities available in a city and wished I could be more bi-local. You’ll have a chance to test out how comfortable you feel out in the wilderness over the next few years, as your boys grow up. Being bi-local has its advantages…

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Hi Annette
      Thank you for sharing your experience.
      We had the opportunity to buy 400 acres in remote wilderness. It was God’s own Country. But we chickened out. The long dirt road was too rough, it was too far away from civilisation, there was no phone reception. If one of the boys stepped on one of our many deadly snakes, there would be no hope of getting medical treatment in time. And we couldn’t imagine traversing the dirt road in our senior years.
      This property is only 20 minutes drive from a big town with good facilities. It already has solar power, water tanks, and a cottage in place, so apart from getting rid of the blackberry (classified as a noxious weed) there isn’t a lot to do.

      Reply

      • Beauty Along the Road Says:

        that sounds like an ideal solution and location. You are so lucky to have solar power and water and cottage already in place (we had to install/build all of that on our own property). I assume that the blackberry is referring to the bramble bushes rather than the electronic gadget? 🙂

  2. michaelwatsonvt Says:

    How exciting! Congratulations! Yes, taking on debt, especially as we are a bit older, can be frightening. Yet, it seems you have long been called to do this. May this undertaking prove a blessing and you all flourish as keepers of the land.

    Reply

  3. Inga Leonora Says:

    This sounds so exciting, I can’t wait to read as you progress along towards purchase and developing and manifesting your dreams. And LOVE the beehive! x

    Reply

  4. greenmackenzie Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful adventure, and that yearning for the land can be strong…..that bee building is amazing. I’ve never seen anything like it. We kept bees in little wooden box hives, which looked like shacks compared to that luxury😊

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Hi GreenMack

      We are waiting for settlement in September, our Spring.

      The bees still live in little boxes. They just have a fancy façade. It is unique, and would be a lovely project. But we have very few practical skills, so we would have to get a builder in. I could paint it in Aboriginal designs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

