tapping into life power – cleansing life force

February 2, 2014

kissing the limitless

When you stand before the fire
There shall be no more weeping.
The trees shall whisper and wind shall moan:
Your fate is in your hands.
.
What is the path of your choosing?
How shall you walk this road?
With spine that reaches, earth to sky
And feet that tread surely.
.
Drink now of the waters
That bring life to your soul.
There is nothing that will quench
Your thirst like this.
.
Set forth. Be well. Walk strong.
.
T Thorn Coyle (http://www.thorncoyle.com/blog/2014/01/31/the-calling/)

.

I have been consistent in my practice lately. What T Thorn Coyle calls “doing the Work”.

The Work has included calling upon the Archangels in the four directions. yoga, qi gong, reiki, and light body meditation.

At this time, I am full of life, love, and light. I feel joy at the most mundane things.

I have found myself spontaneously thanking the green beans that I am topping and tailing for dinner for growing and for giving me their green goodness. This is similar to a practice that Muslims call “dua” (except Muslim’s would thank Allah for the beans)  and that Thich Nhat Hanh calls “interbeing”.

.

Today, the 1st of February is my birthday.

I am 48 years old.

I never thought I would get to this age, especially when I was riding motorcycles and living a wild, crazy life. In those days, thirty seemed so far away, so old.

Today is also St Brigid’s Day, and I tip my hat to my Irish Catholic heritage.

I spent the day indulging in my favourite things.

The monthly farmer’s market happened to be on today. Bagfuls of healthful, organic fruit and vegies. A couple of packets of organic herbal tea from my favourite tea vendor. I was in heaven.

A cup of green tea and a chat with my mother-in-law whilst my youngest son played with blocks on the floor.

A brisk 40 minute walk with my favourite walking dog. We have three dogs, and they each have their own special skills. One is great for walking, One is great for sitting on the lounge with. And the old one is a good listener, he sits at the back door all day waiting for someone to come and chat with him.

A nap on the lounge in the heat of the afternoon. It was about 40 degrees celsius today.

Watering the garden in the late afternoon.

My husband cooked dinner, a simple but tasty chicken curry.

I feel so good about where I am right now.

.

We can’t order up awesome experiences on demand — at least not the heavenly kind — but we can be mindful of such common opportunities for awe, which might alter the pervasive time-starved perspective that is distorting our modern sensibilities in many unhealthy ways.
.
I personally feel that there is immense value in standing still, in breathing in the life around you. It’s in these moments that awe and appreciation can be cherished and appreciated. I have a belief that life is the sum of small moments rather than one general picture. The ordinary, over time, is what amounts to the extraordinary. Sometimes we just need to get out of our own heads long enough to realize it.
.
from ‘What we lose when we bypass the little moments’ by Lauren Suval
.

At some point in the past few weeks, I realised that I was compartmentalising my life. I had a way of being a mum. A way of being for work. I had time allocated to spiritual practice. Time allocated for exercise. Time allocated for tending to the garden.

This compartmentalising was not like wearing a mask. I have never pretended to be anything I am not, I am far too honest with myself and others to be anything other than authentic and vulnerable.

However, with consistent practice, I have realised that I can imbue all of the parts of my life with spirituality. I am feeling more integrated.

This does not mean that I don’t get tired, or frustrated, or all of the other bits of being human and having limitations.

It’s just that it all flows so much better.

.

If you are a poet, you will see clearly that there is a cloud floating on this sheet of paper. Without a cloud, there will be no rain; without rain, the trees cannot grow; and without trees, we cannot make paper… So we can say that the cloud and the paper ‘inter-are.’ … We cannot just be by ourselves alone; we have to inter-be with every other thing.
 
Thich Nhat Hanh, The Heart of Understanding
.
.
Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “tapping into life power – cleansing life force”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Happy Birthday, tree girl. This is a beautifully written piece and I am so glad that you are in a good place right now. Much love to you xxxxx Years ago for an assignment for TAFE we had to do a pie chart of all the areas of our life and I decided to use a different model that I had seen in a book called Wellbeing by Howard Clinebell. It is in a shape similar to that of the atom, with our spirituality in the centre, animating everything else. It was such a right-fit for my understanding of myself and the world.

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Thank you Michelle!

      I had to Google what an atom looks like! It’s so organic! I like it.

      And I love the term “right-fit”.

      I’m not part of The Flock anymore – it didn’t fit. I love Rachelle’s work, especially her blessings, but I felt limited there. I needed more. For the moment T Thorn Coyle’s work is moving me in the right direction.

      I hope you are well!

      Reply

  2. Beauty Along the Road Says:

    Lovely musings from a birthday girl….I, too, have started a bit of qi-gong and enjoy the subtle energy lift it gives me. And beyond yoga and qi-gong, a walk in nature will always pick me up and change my energy around, especially now, as we are in the midst of winter.

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Thank you Annette

      How can you not feel good when the qi-gong movements are called “wind rustles lotus”, “dove spreads its wings” and “scooping up the sea”. I love it.

      Too many snakes and ticks in our nature at the moment to enjoy any kind of walking. Many years ago, I went bushwalking in the snow. We have one area in Australia where it snows, nothing like you have. I prefer to walk in the snow rather than 40 degrees Celsius.

      Reply

  3. Steve Schwartzman Says:

    Inter-be: that’s a great verb. I’ve noticed that some of our most common verbs don’t easily lend themselves to prefixes. For example, we don’t say “Last year I rewent to Paris.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

