fire horse

January 4, 2014

spiritual practice

I am a Fire Horse.

I’m bold and reckless and fearless, and I dance to the beat of my own drum.

I am also Aquarius, an air sign. Air and fire are a volatile mix. Oh my, what a combination! Fiercely independent – I only answer to myself.

fire horse

Source of image: http://www.romanceworks.com/01_Gallery%20Pics/11_Fantasy/65_fireDancer_Pic.jpg

In much of the Western world, we use a linear measurement for time, the years parading forward into the future.  The Chinese use a cycle to measure their years.  On the mats in Chinese restaurants it looks like a 12-year cycle built around animals, but these animals are matched with five elements – metal, wood, fire, water, and earth creating 60-year cycles.  So you are not just born in the year of the Horse, but in the year of the Earth Horse or Water Horse…or Fire Horse.
 
Fire Horses are formed from the heat of flames and the wildness of horses making them as dangerous as they are strong-willed.  They fight and kick against boundaries, disregarding traditions, valuing blind faith over wisdom and cunning over intelligence.  The first part of any Horse’s life is said to be full of ups and downs, but for a Fire Horse, who is destined for extremes, these are even more dramatic. Their bold natures and the heat in their blood bring misery to their families, especially their husbands and fathers.  Trying to restrain the will of a Fire Horse girl can cause tragedy, even death.
 
Fire Horses race through life.  They travel often, leaving home at a young age to chase the freedom and independence that feed them.  Resourceful and confident, new situations do not intimidate them.  This can cause trouble since they are often too confident and curious for their own good.
 
The male Fire Horse is not considered as dangerous as the female.  The same drive and determination that often brings disgrace to Fire Horse women brings distinction to men. It makes them good leaders, quick to make decisions, and gifted at turning a bad situation to their advantage.  Fire Horse men are destined to be famous…or infamous.
 
Fire Horses are full of contradictions.  Their pride is paired with a great capacity for kindness.  Despite their fierce independence, they need to belong.  They are designed for conflict even inside their own skin.  This makes it difficult to predict what a Fire Horse will do, especially one that is in love.  They may sacrifice everything, but they are just as likely to destroy.
 
Kay Honeyman

I am a horse with wings and fuelled by fire (incredible energy and passion for causes and social justice).

In many ways, I am TOO MUCH.

All my life I have strived to be grounded, and failed. I am learning to accept that I am what I am. Flighty, lofty, and in constant need to be moving and in flux. I don’t need to be physically active, as long as my mind remains active, that is enough.

I’m excited by learning and ideas, and I like to talk about them. Constantly reflecting and in search of better ways of doing things and bright new ideas, I live inside my head. Many times my body has languished whilst my brain has been working on tantalising musings.

My favourite saying is “I’ll wing it”.  Another allusion to the airiness of me. I run headlong into everything and get a rush from the fear (panic), anxiety, pain, and joy of it. And I usually sweep everyone else up along with it. Except those who are afraid. I leave fearful people behind.

I love the link between your saying “I’ll wing it” and your metaphor of “getting a rush” – I picture you soaring above the everyday landscape of our lives, gliding along in a stream of ease and then flying down to your nest and gathering your flock to you.
 
Rachel McDonald (Soul Gypsy)

I am lucky to have a boss who lets me do what I want to do. She tried to control me for a few years and I constantly flew above her radar. I am elusive. She discovered that she would get stunning results from me (and greater cooperation) if she let me work under my own steam and creativity, and supported me. It has been a very productive relationship.

People born during the Year of the  Horse have a pleasant, amiable, easy going disposition which guarantees  popularity and a large following of friends.  Blessed with good humour and  geniality, they are extremely comfortable to get along with for they have the  knack of instantly putting people at their ease.
 
Charming and cheerful, the  Horse is an extremely likable character.  Hard working, self-possessed and  sharp, the Horse skilfully acquires power, wealth and respect.  However, the  Horse’s sometime-appreciated frankness can be tactless.  The Horse’s  impatient pursuit of success may become selfish and predatory.  Horses can  be obstinate.  In truth, they are more cunning than intelligent, and they  know it.  This is why, despite that air of assurance, the Horse lacks confidence  in himself.
 
He is very quick-witted and he is  right in there with you before you have had the chance to finish what you were  saying; he’s on to the thought in your mind even before you’ve expressed it.   This permits the Horse to forestall any arguments that anyone can dream up.
 
With the Horse, movement is  everything.  Freedom and independence are as essential to Horse-born people  as the air they breathe.  A low boredom threshold, both in terms of interests  and friendships, is characteristic of those belonging to this sign, and adds  a whimsical quality to the otherwise level headedness of these folk.   Consequently, they tend to act on impulse, and this means there is an element  of unpredictability about them.  Sometimes they change their minds before completing  a project, giving others the impression of irresponsibility.  This behavioural pattern  of stopping before completion may result from being born halfway through the twelve-sign cycle.
 
Like the symbol by which they  are represented, Horse-born people are high-spirited and lively.  Their  vivacity and enthusiasm make them very popular.  With a deft sense of  humour, Horses are masters of repartee.  They love to take center stage and  delight audiences everywhere.  Sometimes rash and wilful, they can be prone  to rapid changes of mood and, although seldom really explosive of temper,  when they do see red, it is not a pretty sight.  Those who have suffered  a Horse’s rage will never feel quite the same about him again, for his  fits of temper are inevitably a bit childish.  If he wants to succeed, he  has to master them.  Rebelliousness is another difficult Horse trait.  Because of  his carefree nature, the Horse needs plenty of room for self-expression or he can become  bitter and exhibit destructive behaviour.  Also, the Horse can become overtly jealous and offensive  if he senses that someone else is valued more or treated better.  He reacts by  competing and promoting himself in order to win favour. What we do know is that the Fire  Horse will have a career that is more varied, more exceptional, more interesting  than that of the ordinary Horse.  The Fire Horse carries within himself the  seeds of fame … or of notoriety!
 
Resourceful, self-confident and mentally alert,  Horses are quick to catch on and efficient in all their undertakings.  Because  of this ability, this dexterous and incisive mind of theirs, they can make  accurate judgments and sound decisions instantaneously.  When it comes to intuition they have a sixth sense that is quite  uncanny.  Unfortunately, as the Horse is a creature of changing moods he’s  liable to lose interest suddenly in things he’s taken up, whether it’s a  love affair, a single deal in business, or a whole career.  He’ll start  again with the same determination, and he’ll enjoy an equal success.  He can  make it in any career that demands neither solitude nor meditation, for he is  an extrovert and he needs to be surrounded by people who approve of him and  flatter him.
 
Due to their dislike of inactivity,  Horses get involved in many sorts of works outside their chosen trade.   Good with their hands and attracted to art, they are skilful craftsmen  with a talent for innovation. Men and women actually born in  the year of the Fire Horse will have the same characteristics as the ordinary  Horse — but they will be more accentuated, in the good qualities as well as  in the bad.  The Fire Horse will thus be a harder worker, a more cunning  individual, more independent, more gifted … and alas, far more selfish.  A career which would bring great personal satisfaction with the opportunity to grind his own axe would be a winner here, for he has the facility to sway the crowd.
 
The first and second part of  the Horse’s life will be full of ups and downs.  He will leave his home  and family while he is still young, and this will bring its own disappointments.   His love life will be by no means smooth.  But the third phase of the Horse’s  life will be a peaceful one.  These people possess an extremely low boredom  threshold and soon get tired of the same people and the same situations.   They love their independence and, as soon as they feel a partner is making  too many demands or limiting their freedom, they will rebel and gallop off in  search of new pastures. 
 
Noncomformists, free thinkers, thirsting for  life, Horses risk daring romantic adventures.  The idea of being married  several times does not disturb them, and they adore children.  Age eventually  mellows the Horse, and those born under its influence who have not found  stability when younger are likely to settle down in later life. There are those who say that the  Fire Horse can be a good influence in the heart of his own family.  But popular belief asserts that he will make trouble in the home he was born in just as he  does in the one he himself has built.
 
Adapted from: http://www.holymtn.com/astrology/horse.htm

It’s true that in the first two-thirds of my life I have been driven by the wild horse nature. It has not been easy to tame that wildness, craziness, and exuberance. The mish-mash of careers, the friendships that started with promise but discarded, the number of university degrees I started and never finished because they didn’t suit me. the rabbit holes I’ve been down, the hats I’ve worn. And still, these days, when I partner with people on projects they say that I create an atmosphere of organised chaos, that somehow I manage to pull it all together and it works and it is brilliant, but what a ride.

This year I want to tone things down a bit. Let people in. I do want to be more grounded because I am a bit unbalanced, and sometimes that imbalance looks a bit like madness (or drive/obsession/passion? depending on how you look at it).

What do I want to release?

The selfishness. The pride. The need to be recognised and appreciated for the work that I am doing. The stubborn stubbornness. The unrelenting pace.

What does this look like? I have to convert these thoughts into images to be truly effective because I am primarily visual.

Being a quiet and gentle old horse, whose flame still flickers but creates warmth rather ferocity. My wings give me just enough height to be able to look upon and survey the landscape but my flight is gentle and graceful, more like an eagle’s wings rather than an angry dragon’s wings. I do not need to fly so high anymore. Slowing down and flying below the clouds will give me the chance to savour the view and actually breathe, rather than gasping for air where the oxygen is thinner. I will hum rather than roar. Whilst I’m definitely not ready to be saddled, I could probably spend some time grazing and hanging out. I might even share my paddock.

paddockSource of image: http://images.fineartamerica.com/images-medium-large/three-horses-grazing-at-kaikoura-sheila-smart.jpg

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open. … No artist is pleased. [There is] no satisfaction whatever at any time. There is only a queer divine dissatisfaction, a blessed unrest that keeps us marching and makes us more alive than the others.”
 
Martha Graham
,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “fire horse”

  1. Angela. i an no angel Says:

    II trust to be guided. The second phase of me will be better than the first. I also am an Aquarian fire – horse. To be born in a family of mental illness. But that is not my curse.
    My question is how many elements,blessings and curses had to come together at the same time to create ME?
    Thank you for the clarity. It came to me at the right time. Blind faith,

    Reply

  2. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com Says:

    Fascinating explanation. I have no idea if I am a horse(my favorite animal) sign or not, but I am an Aquarian on the Pisces cusp. I deeply appreciate and like your blog.

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Warami Englishprofessor

      The Chinese system allocates an animal for the year you were born – 12 symbols in total. A google search will call up your animal fairly easily. And then depending on the year you were born you are also allocated an element. the Chinese system has five – earth, wood, metal, fire, water. So, it takes 60 years for your particular symbol to come around again (12 x 5). It is interesting. In my case, I am the combination of all of these influences – they are so like me. I think they help to provide insight into why you keep repeating some patterns, not at all like a self-fulfilling prophecy, just insight.

      Thank you for visiting and commenting.

      Yanu

      Reply

  3. Eddie Two Hawks Says:

    very interesting reading; amazed by all your talents!
    Thank you for subscribing to my site and allowing me to enter your exciting world! Eddie

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Warami (good to see you) Eddie Two Hawks

      Thank you for visiting and for your comment.

      I look forward to getting to know you.

      Yanu (bye, I go now)

      tree girl

      Reply

Leave a Reply

