dadirri – silent awareness

December 24, 2013

Aboriginality

There is a deep spring inside of us,

a vast silence like the desert.

Here, in this space.

Dadirri

Time and timelessness,

peace in silent awareness.

I listen and wait.

We watch the seasons come and go,

watch the moon wax and wane,

wait for the fruit to ripen,

watch our children grow,

sit with our grief.

Silence is our gift,

we welcome it,

call upon it,

and it calls us.

Listen, watch, wait,

this will determine what we are to do.

Quiet, gentle, strong, patient.

Walk slowly and with purpose.

Being still brings peace and understanding.

Dadirri

a stronger peace than mindfulness.

A deep peace,

grounded, over aeons.

Dadirri is the sap and strong roots of the tree,

it is the flow of the river,

the sunrise and the sunset.

Deep respect for all things,

and their ways

of being, knowing, and doing.

Dadirri.

.

I compiled the above poem from the wisdom of Aboriginal Elder, Miriam Rose Ungunmerr-Baumann, from the Daly River in the Northern Territory. I’m not sure which words are actually hers and which are mine as the article that inspired this poem, which I wrote some time ago, has now been taken off the internet. The wisdom is all Aunty Miriam’s. These words are true, describing a process that has no words. I have had the good fortune of spending time with Aboriginal people who embody Dadirri. Their stillness and patience is as wide, deep, and strong as a river.

.

The Nepean River. Image source: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0d/Aus_nsw_nepean_river_dsc05078.jpg

.

Related Articles

Dadirri: A reflection by Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr-Baumann

, , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “dadirri – silent awareness”

  1. dadirri7 Says:

    beautiful … I must put a link here from my blog … dadiridreaming 🙂 now to dream, and let those deep words float over me … thank you treegirl

    Reply

  2. michaelwatsonvt Says:

    Good Morning. As always a lovely and moving post!

    The other day Ji Hyang (http://naturalwisdom.blogspot.com/) tagged me in a blog Hop. I hope you will join, Here are the questions and his comments

    I am just now, doing a “blog hop”, like a blog tag, about writing.
    Would love to include your blog in the journey. It is another expression of interconnection– something light, for the summer.

    The questions are:
    What am I writing/working on?
    How does my work differ from others of its genre?
    Why do I write what I write?
    How does my writing process work?

    Just link back to one of us.

    Much warmth,
    Michael

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Hi Michael

      Thank you for mentioning me.

      I have been away from family again. Had to go interstate for training.

      So, I will get to this blog hop soon.

      Reply

  3. andysmerdon Says:

    Thanks for these words Tree Girl – I am Buddhist and it makes me think of our way – mindfulness. 🙂

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Hi Andy

      Thank you for visiting.

      I have done Buddhism (Zen, Tibetan, Rissho kosei-kai), Hare Krsna, Druidry, Paganism, Hermetics, Metaphysics, Anthroposphy. Now I’m discovering Christianity. It’s all good.

      Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two Worlds: Just Listen | Australis Incognita - May 31, 2014

    […] There is a deep spring inside of us, a vast silence like the desert. Here, in this space. Dadirri Time and timelessness, peace in silent awareness. I listen and wait, all that matters is Now. We watch the seasons come and go, watch the moon wax and wane, wait for the fruit to ripen, watch our children grow, sit with our grief. Silence is our gift, we welcome it, call upon it, and it calls us. Listen, watch, wait, this will determine what we are to do. Quiet, gentle, strong, patient. No need to hurry, nothing is more important than Now. Being still brings peace and understanding. Dadirri a stronger peace than mindfulness. A deep peace, grounded, over aeons. Dadirri is the sap and strong roots of the tree, it is the flow of the river, the sunrise and the sunset. Deep respect for all things, and their ways of being, knowing, and doing. Dadirri. ~ poem by blogger, Tree Girl, of Dharug Country, NSW @ Under The Tea Tree […]

  2. Two Worlds: Look Out & “The Sight to See” | Australis Incognita - June 15, 2014

    […] many things that might otherwise seem greatly juxtaposed as contemporary Australians. Her poem on dadirri – silent awareness helped me further connect with that concept. And I would direct […]

Leave a Reply

