random thoughts on the elements – water

I live in the mountains, where on a good day the mist rolls in and stays all day. I could sit and watch that mist all day.

I could live in the Pacific Northwest of the USA that has a high rainfall. That town of Forks in the Twilight movies where everything grows mossy and the temperatures are cool sounds ideal.

I never complain about the rain. I love the green that covers this usually “wide brown land” after a good soaking. The croaking of frogs. The clean, fresh smell of the rain interacting with the scented leaves of the eucalypt, melaleuca, and callistemon. The dampness of the grass.

I love digging in the soft wet soil that is usually baked dry and hard by the sun and heat.

In Aboriginal culture, you are either a fresh water person or a salt water person depending on where your clan was located. I don’t know if I am fresh water or salt water. My mother’s family came from the coast (Eora). My father’s family were inland (Kamilaroi). I choose to live in the mountains. Years ago, I worked with a Maori man who always introduced himself to the groups we were facilitating by talking about the features of the land in the town he came from. It was so beautiful.

My grandfather would get angry when he heard of people killing sharks because they had bitten a person. He would say “the sea is their home, and we have to respect them in their home, they don’t come onto the land, the senseless killing of them is disrespectful to the creatures that they are”. There was a lot of Koori in that man.

The depths of the sea frighten me. I would never go scuba diving. To be surrounded by water would be too claustrophobic. It is dark and unknown. People can live on water but we can’t live in it. It has my healthy and distant respect.

.

life came out from the primordial soup

teeming with life

essential for life

gives life and takes it away

drips, drops, tinkles, trickles, oozes

roars, rages

silky

brackish, clear, stagnant

still, rippling, waves, pounding, tides, currents

sprinkling, torrential, sheets

refreshing, healing, relaxing, calm, powerful

waterfalls, ponds, swamp, bog, ocean, river, lake, creek, lagoon, bore, spring, well, billabong, mangrove, channel

dam, reservoir, hydroelectric, harbour

water is heavy but can provide weightlessness

cold, hot

ice, snow, rain. sleet

deep, shallow

reflective

fluid

.

“Water is patient. Water just waits. Wears down the cliff tops, the mountains. The whole of the world. Water always wins.” Dr Who, The Waters of Mars.

.

“Water is fluid, soft, and yielding. But water will wear away rock, which is rigid and cannot yield. As a rule, whatever is fluid, soft, and yielding will overcome whatever is rigid and hard. This is another paradox: what is soft is strong.”

~ Lao-Tzu ~

,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “random thoughts on the elements – water”

  1. greenmackenzie Says:

    Beautiful watery thoughts. I love water in all its forms….I suspect I might be part fish….and used to think I would find diving claustrophobic, but in fact for me atleast it is freeing. It feels like flying 🙂

    Reply

    • tree girl Says:

      Hi greenmackenzie

      I think you are very brave, you have my utmost respect.

      I adored the Jacques Cousteau documentaries when I was a kid (usually watching them with my grandfather mentioned in this post), and have read his life story. A remarkable man.

      Reply

  2. michaelwatsonvt Says:

    We do seem to struggle, as a species, to let other creatures have their space. I do wish we would become better at that….. sigh….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

